Officials and Administration

Violet Township is governed by four elected officials – three trustees and a fiscal officer, each elected to a four-year term. All are elected by residents from both the incorporated and unincorporated areas of the township. Each is ready to meet their responsibilities and, in practice, contribute many hours to serve their constituents.

A full-time Township Administrator oversees day-to-day operations for the governmental organization for all Facilities and Locations.

Limited Self Government

Violet Township is a "home rule" township, meaning that residents have adopted Limited Self-Government giving township trustees the ability to enact resolutions, similar to city ordinances, provided they do not conflict with state laws or a list of specified exceptions.

With Limited Self-Government a township can continue to benefit from services – such as county road maintenance, state highway maintenance and county building inspection – and also enjoy the greater independence and self determination that prior to 1991 was granted only to cities.