Soil and Water

The Fairfield County Soil and Water Conservation District was established in 1943. Authority of the District is given under the Ohio Revised Code Section 940 (previously 1515). We are governed by a Board of five publicly elected Supervisors representing the diversity of resource concerns in the Fairfield Soil and Water Conservation District.

The District has worked for more than a half century in partnership on flood control and erosion reduction that helps protect Lancaster and the Hocking River Valley with the Hunter’s Run Conservancy District as well as the Rushcreek Conservancy District protecting Sugar Grove and Bremen.  These flood control structures help protect part of the commercial and industrial engines of our economy by controlling storm water run-off and water quality in our community.

We have always aided Fairfield County residents and agencies with drainage issues and provided guidance.

The District has been involved in assisting county and local governments with erosion and sediment control and compliance with the Ohio EPA’s Phase II requirements since its inception.

For more information about the district, visit their website at

We still partner with the United States Department of Agriculture for Farm Bill conservation program practices, the Ohio Department of Agriculture and the Ohio Department of Natural Resources for agriculture and silviculture pollution complaints as per Ohio Revised Code 940.

Municipal Separate Storm Sewer Systems